December 5th 2018 | Garden Lobby, The Scottish Parliament


23 Jul
' Nominations Open '
5 Oct
' Nominations Close *now extended* '
29 Oct
' Shortlist Announced '
5 Dec
' Awards Ceremony '


The Scottish Public Service Awards offer the opportunity to celebrate outstanding achievements within Scotland's civic landscape and give welcome recognition to the work that goes on - sometimes very much behind the scenes and often in difficult circumstances - to support the governance of Scotland.

Who is organising the Scottish Public Service Awards?

Holyrood, closely supported by the Scottish Government and Scottish Parliament, have run the awards since their conception in 2014.

How do I enter?

You can enter yourself or be nominated by a colleague. It's free to enter and nominations must be submitted electronically. Please click here to be taken to the nominations form. 

You are more than welcome to enter more than one category and submit the same entry into multiple categories. Although not recommended, should you feel you need to submit supporting evidence please email your supporting documentation in a word document or pdf to

Each nominated entry is entitled to two complimentary places at the awards ceremony. 

What should I contain in my entry?

There are four main parts to the form: 

  • An overview of the nomination - max 250 words
  • Criteria - max 500 words
  • Evidence/ measurable benefits - max 250 words
  • Testimonial - this can be from a service user, project owner or other - max 150 words

Please consider why your nomination should be considered for the award.  Concentrate on specific areas of delivery and projects with proven results. 

When will the shortlist be announced?

Monday 13th November.

What happens with my nomination?

Our expert panel of judges and draw up a shortlist of three for each category. They will then review the shortlist and select the winners in each of the categories. 

The winners will be announced at a prestigious reception at the Scottish Parliament on the 4th December. 

Do I have to tell the person I am nominating them?

We advise that you let anyone you are nominating know that you have done so at your own discretion. It is not compulsory to do so but it is usually best to inform them in advance so they are not caught off-guard if they are shortlisted. It’s also an opportunity to let them know what fantastic work they have done!

How many categories are there?

There are 13 categories in total this year, including a new award - the Championing Gender Equality Award. 

The Lifetime Achievement Award will be chosen by our judging panel so will not be open for nominations. 

Who should I contact if I have any questions about the Awards process?

Should you need any further information please contact Mark Riding on or 0131 285 1614.